rsbpub

Daniel Edlen: Hungry, not Starving, Artist

In 1 on December 25, 2008 at 9:41 am

me_vegas

2584984380_168e6cc9c7

You don’t have to starve to be a successful artist, but you do have to stay hungry. Hungry to create, to share your  creations, and ultimately, to ignite in others your own passion for culture, art and music. Just ask Daniel Edlen, vinyl artist.

“I hand paint portraits of musicians and entertainers on vinyl recordings of their performances. I call it Vinyl Art. I came up with the idea as a teenager back around ‘92. My dad had turned me onto The Beatles on vinyl, and my mom volunteered at the library handling used book and record donations. I got first pick of the records, which didn’t sell well. Amassing duplicates of my favorite albums, I did about 6 of them and lost interest.

frame_kool

“Some work-friends suggested I see if people’d go for them as holiday gifts in ‘06 and they sold. I’m not getting rich off of my work, but that’s not the reason I paint. My story is about connecting people with people, with their culture, with their memories, with their music. It makes people feel warm inside to think about their music. The troubles and destruction and negativity in the world quiet for a moment.

“My story has also become about giving. Giving Vinyl Art as a gift works out well for all involved. And giving to charity through my art does , too. It has become a very important outlet for me – a kind of therapy. But also a way to connect myself to my art to make it meaningful.”

It’s that inner drive to stay connected – to go on creating – that keeps artists hungry. They wouldn’t have it any other way. Few understand this as well as Becky Blanton, author, journalist, photographer and, hopefully, winner of the Chapter 7, Johnny Bunko writing contest. Becky’s written  Staying Hungry and has been selected as one of three finalists. If, like Becky, you understand the role Staying Hungry plays in creating art, please vote for (3) Staying Hungry on the Johnny Bunko website.

Learn more about Daniel’s art. Visit  Edlen’s blog and You Tube Channel.

beatles

We think Stay Hungry is the most powerful pick for Johnny Bunko’s Lesson Seven. If you think so too, please click here and add your vote.
Leave a Reply

